With Honors
Honors Home
CSU Home Page


CSU Alumni Association

Ram Athletics

Jobs at CSU



Spring 2010

Spring Commencement includes a record number of candidates for the Honors Scholar designation. A complete list can be found on a link at the Honors website, News and Events tab here.

Jen Krafchick has been chosen by the Honors Student Association as the 2010 Honors Prof of the Year. One of her student nominators cited her for "spontaneity, student lead class discussions and debates, out of the box thinking, and down to earth and straight forward answers. She will give the annual Honors Prof lecture next fall.

D. Tobiassen Baitinger was chosen by the Honors students to be recognized as the 2010 Honors Adviser of the Year by the Honors Student Association. She works in Psychology. Her student nominator wrote that she is "positive, compassionate, and helpful adviser. She listens loud and clear!"


Sam Lustgarten has created a scholarship fund for undergraduates interested in studying mental health and suicide issues. As an RA, Sam saw the impact of these issues and was determined to do something about it. http://www.news.colostate.edu/Release/5207



Alumnus Rebecca Hale (University Honors participant and University Honors Scholar, SP94) follows the success of her first novel with a second due out in July. Ms. Hale found her first novel, How to Wash a Cat, on the New York Times Bestseller list. The second book, Nine Lives Last Forever, should be published by Penguin this summer. She graduated from Vanderbilt Law School and currently resides in Grand Junction.

University Honors Program Scholarship Fund is accepting donations. If you would like to make a gift, please send your donation to CSU Foundation at P.O. Box 1870, Fort Collins, Colorado 80522-1870. Please indicate Account 59085, Honors Scholarship Fund as the intended recipient.



Jenny Roemer received a $5000 graduate fellowship from the Honors Society of Phi Kappa Phi. She presented her Honors thesis at the Northeastern Recreation Research Symposium with her adviser, Jerry Vaske.


Katy Benson was named a 2010 Goldwater Scholar. Fellow honors students, Jenny Sneden and Melanie Schow, received Honorable Mention in the national competition. Details can be found at


Katie Barstow's entrepreneurial spirit is matched with success. A local Fort Collins resident and her friend developed a successful cosmetic business that has provided them with profits and the community with $4,000 of their products. Photos and details can be found at


Two biological engineering students, Mohamed Eldeiry and Liesel Mundhenke, team with electrical and computer engineering students in taking top honors at Engineering Days. These students designed, fabricated and tested a chip, circuit, and software aimed at detecting a common canine cancer. Full details can be found at


Jennifer Babos was chosen Vice President Elect of the Associated Students of Colorado State University. Babos, a junior liberal arts major, ran with Cooper Anderson, a junior in business and agricultural sciences. Another Honors student, David Ambrose, also ran for ASCSU President.


Two Honors students submit work to the College of Natural Science Art Show. Kristen Hosek, Biology Education, and Jesse Drendel, Mathematics major, both exhibited work in the annual show on campus.

Honors students dominate the awards podium at the 2010 Celebrating Undergraduate Research and Creativity fair. Highest Honors went to Courtney Amerin, Drew Neavin, and Katriana Popichak. College Honors were awarded to Kathleen Brandes, Travis Hill, Andrea Akers, Mary Dean, Rachel Meier, Kristine Walters, Madeline Breer, Ryan Autenreith, and Dawn Clagett.

Ashley Denney used her Honors Enrichment Award to attend research conference in Hawaii. She presented a poster session on "Investigating Pollen Function in Arabidopsis Irx8 and Irx 9 Double Mutants". Katriana Popichak used her enrichment support to attend the ToxExpo in Salt Lake City.


Travis Hall, Jack and June Richardson Scholar, received a full scholarship to travel to South Korea over spring break. The story can be found at http://www.today.colostate.edu/story.aspx?id=3347

Graduate schools beckon several graduating seniors. Senior exit surveys reveal that the University of Texas Department of Inorganic Chemistry, Iowa State University Soil Chemistry, Wyoming School of Pharmacy, and the University of Cambridge Philosophy Department have accepted 2010 Honors graduates.

2009 graduate Caren Fleischmann was presented an award for Outstanding Paper in the journal Invasive Plant Science and Management at the Denver meeting of the Weed Science Society. Her paper was judged as the outstanding contribution to the society's new journal. Caren is headed to the University of Colorado Medical School in the fall.

Amber Windrath (University Honors Scholar SP09) heads to vet school. Christina Farhart (University Honors Scholar SP07) has taken a position with the NSF in Washington, D.C. Courtney Peterson will be published in the Forest Products Journal. Susan Kasza is headed to Kirksville College of Osteopathic Medicine in Missouri.

Winter 2009 graduate Stephanie Ninnemann leaves a synchronized figure skating team as part of her legacy at CSU.
WISDOM, Women in Science Devoted to Outreach and Mentoring, is the legacy Betsey Buechler leaves at CSU. The group tutors local junior high school students in math or science fields. Details on both at http://www.colostate.edu/story.aspx?id=2859